From the Chairman - Term 1 2020

I can’t believe it’s 2020 already and 27 years since Westcoast Community Centre Inc. (WCC) was founded in 1993 by our Patron Carole Crommelin, OAM and Annie Gregg.

I trust everyone had a wonderful Christmas and New Year and that you are ready to start 2020 with enthusiasm and energy. This term WCC is offering a programme jam-packed full of new, exciting and different outings, talks and activities. I am especially looking forward to Prof. David Mackey’s (2015 Churchill Fellow) talk on Gene Therapy for Inherited Retinal Diseases. Many of your favourites have also returned, with Pony Canasta, Knitting and Crochet and Mah Jong being just a few.

It was a long wait, but negotiations for the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between WCC, the Shire of Peppermint Grove and the Towns of Cottesloe and Mosman Park for the use of the Grove Community Room have now been resolved. The cost per annum to be paid by WC has been increased from $4,292 to $9,000. WCC agreed to pay this amount in good faith if the MOU was for five years and the councils and shire gave an undertaking to provide an alternative venue should the Community Room no longer be available. For those interested, there will be a detailed report on the negotiations in the Chairman’s report at the AGM.

On Wednesday, 25 March 2020 WCC will hold its Sundowner and Annual General Meeting. This is the one gathering all members should try to attend. Please make every effort to join us in socialising and helping to guide the Management Committee by electing management committee members.   If you feel that you have the skills, time and commitment, or know someone who might, please think about nominating for the Management Committee. WCC needs you.

As previously mentioned in other newsletters, WCC is unique in that it is managed, the programme planned and all activities delivered by volunteers.

Please take time to read your newsletter, choose what is of most interest to you and enrol in person, online or by posting your registration form. And don’t forget to renew your membership if it is due.

On behalf of the Westcoast Management Committee, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. See you all safe and sound in 2020.

Anne McCrudden,  Chairman.

2020 02 04 EDAYposter